Robbery with Firearms or Other Dangerous Weapons

In North Carolina, Robbery with Firearms or Other Dangerous Weapon is a felony.

How a Bang for Your Buck Will Leave You With a Felony Charge

In North Carolina, Robbery with Firearms or Other Dangerous Weapon is a felony.  In North Carolina, General Statute § 14-87 defines it as:

Any person or persons who, having in possession or with the use or threatened use of any firearms or other dangerous weapon, implement or means, whereby the life of a person is endangered or threatened, unlawfully take or attempts to take personal property from another person or from any place of business, residence or banking institution or any other place where there is a person or persons in attendance, at any time, either day or night, or who aids or abets any such person or persons in the commission of such crime, shall be guilty of a Class D felony.

Do you have to use the firearm to be found guilty of this crime?

No, the statute applies if you are in possession of the firearm or other dangerous weapon, if you use the firearm, or if you threaten to use the firearm.

North Carolina Penalties for Robbery with Firearms or Other Dangerous Weapon

The penalty you receive if convicted of robbery with a dangerous weapon or firearms in North Carolina will depend on whether or not you have previously been convicted of a felony before this in your life.  If you have no prior felonies, you may receive a sentence of up to 204 months.  If you classify as a habitual offender, this could increase your sentence up to 120 months.  If you have been previously charged with a felony you could also be charged with possession of firearms by a felon.

Contact North Carolina Attorney Lindsey Granados for Help Today

Contact our law firm at Granados Law Group, PLLC immediately if you or someone you know has been charged with Robbery with Firearm or Other Dangerous Weapons in North Carolina. Our Raleigh Attorney Lindsey Granados is an experienced criminal defense attorney and is here to help you handle your robbery charges.  Lindsey can answer any questions you may have about your charge or the penalties you may face.  Call Lindsey at (919) 650-2851, or email her at lindsey@granadoslaw.com for a free consultation today.

Contact Us Today!

Let us know how we can help you by contacting us today for a free consultation. Call (919) 650-2851 or fill out the form below to get in touch.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Gun in the Glove Compartment? Not Without a CCW Permit

If you do not have a carry concealed weapon (CCW) permit, can you keep your gun in the glove compartment of your car? In North Carolina, you cannot. Pursuant to G.S. 14-269, one cannot carry a firearm, bowie knife, or an array of other weapons upon their person while...

Simple Assault Charges

Simple Assault Charge in Raleigh, NC

Class 2 Misdemeanors in NC

What is a Class 2 Misdemeanor in North Carolina?