Robbery in North Carolina

What defines Robbery in NC?

Purse Snatching and Pickpocketing: Why Neither of These Things are Robbery

There are several types of robbery charges in North Carolina.  There is common law robbery, robbery with a dangerous weapon, and train robbery.  All three of these crimes will result in a felony conviction.

What Makes Robbery, Robbery?

Robbery is distinguishable from other theft crimes because it usually requires the victim to not only be present, but also be threatened with bodily harm.

Elements of Robbery

  1. Taking, with intent to steal

  2. The property of others

  3. From them or in their presence

  4. Against their will

  5. By violence or threat of force.

How Much Force is Required?

While not much force is required for robbery, there does need to be some level of force during the commission in the crime.  There usually needs to be more force than what is required to obtain the item being stolen.

What is Not Force?

Typically, purse snatching and pickpocketing is not considered robbery because these situations do not involve the level of force that is required.

North Carolina Penalties for Robbery

If you are charged with common law robbery in North Carolina you may receive a prison sentence of anywhere between 8 and 31 months.

If you have been charged with Robbery with a Dangerous Weapon, the penalty is much more severe and you could face up to 204 months in prison.

Contact North Carolina Attorney Lindsey Granados for Help Today

If you or someone you know has been charged with Robbery in North Carolina, contact Granados Law Group, PLLC.  Raleigh Attorney Lindsey Granados has experience with common law robbery and robbery with a dangerous weapon.  She cares about her clients and wants to help you get the best result that you can.  Let Lindsey answer any questions you may have about your North Carolina Robbery charge.  Call Lindsey at (919) 650-2851, or email her at lindsey@granadoslaw.com for a free consultation today.

Contact Us Today!

Let us know how we can help you by contacting us today for a free consultation. Call (919) 650-2851 or fill out the form below to get in touch.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

First Offender’s in Wake County

How can you get your case dismissed in Wake County?

Beware of Self-Checkouts!

Beware of self-checkouts at big box stores!