fbpx

Were You Charged With Stealing in Raleigh?

Larceny Charges in Wake County

Larceny of goods with a value of $1,000 or more is a class H felony.  Larceny of goods with a value of less than $1,000 is a class 1 misdemeanor.  NCGS §14-72.

If you were charged with larceny, you have a few options. These options depend on the circumstances of your case, and whether you are a first time offender. If you are a first time offender, you might consider the First Offenders Program that allows you to complete 75 hours of community service for misdemeanors, and 225 hours of community service for felonies in exchange for a dismissal of your case. The first offenders program is not right for everyone, however.

If you want to fight your case, our first step will be to analyze the officer’s report. The most common problem with a larceny charge is that the State must prove that you had the “intent to permanently deprive” another of those goods. This can be an issue if you mistakenly did not pay for every item at checkout, or if you forgot that you tried on jewelry at the store, then walked out etc.

The State of North Carolina has the burden to prove each and every element of Larceny “beyond a reasonable doubt.” If they do not prove each element, you should be found not guilty.

The elements for Misdemeanor Larceny in North Carolina are:

  1. Take personal property of another
  2. Carry it away
  3. Without the consent
  4. With intent to permanently deprive
  5. Knowing that it was not theirs to take

The elements for Felony Larceny in North Carolina are:

  1. Take personal property of another
  2. Carry it away
  3. Without the consent
  4. With the intent to permanently deprive
  5. Knowing that it was not theirs to take, and
    1. Property was worth over $1,000, or
    2. Larceny was from the person, or
    3. Larceny committed during a burglary, breaking out of a dwelling, breaking or entering a building, breaking or entering a building that is a place of religious worship, or burglary with explosives, or
    4. Larceny was of an explosive or incendiary device, or
    5. Larceny was of a firearm, or
    6. Larceny was of a record of paper in the custody of the North Carolina State Archives

If you were charged with Larceny or Possession of Stolen Goods, Granados Law Group can help.  Call attorney Lindsey Granados at 919-650-2851, or stop by our office in Cary, North Carolina for a free consultation.

Contact Us Today!

Let us know how we can help you by contacting us today for a free consultation. Call (919) 650-2851 or fill out the form below to get in touch.
Name(Required)
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Do I Need a Lawyer for a Speeding Ticket?

Do you need an attorney for your Raleigh speeding ticket?

First Offender’s in Wake County

How can you get your case dismissed in Wake County?

Class 2 Misdemeanors in NC

What is a Class 2 Misdemeanor in North Carolina?